top of page

Kids are the Best Humans


I’ve been spending a lot of time with kids lately – babysitting, swim lessons, etc. I have spent time with kids of a lot of different ages, but one thing I thought the other day while I was holding an 11-month-old baby and watching his 4 and 6 year old siblings play in the pool was that, kids are so simple. They’re the most human of all of us. All they want is someone who will give them attention and affection. Once you give them these, they’re happy and they’ll give you hugs and kisses and talk to you about literally everything in their lives. They’re amazingly honest, totally curious, and have an awe and amazement about the world that it seems we lose, as we get older.

The baby I was with can’t walk yet but he can stand on his own and if you hold his hands, he can take a few steps. I watched him stand on his own, shake a little on his legs, and plop back down onto the floor, only to repeat the whole thing again. This tiny little guy is actually really brave! He falls and stumbles. He’s almost always unsteady on his feet, but he keeps going, keeps trying. He falls and he gets back up.

Watching little Lincoln, I realized how much I could learn from him and how even if he is only 11 months old, he has qualities that I don’t. Then, I started noticing the other kids around. Even Jesus says that we must be like the “little ones” to get into Heaven. So I think we should try to reconnect to a childlike humanness – an attitude of curiosity, wonder, simplicity, and resilience. Being simply happy to receive affection and attention from those around us and especially, always from our Father.

No tags yet.
bottom of page